Faculty History

History of the Faculty

            The Faculty of Environmental Design and Management was jointly proposed by the Faculty of Technology and Faculty of the Social Sciences and was approved by Senate of the University of Ibadan in March, 2011. The approved faculty was to commence the first phase with the Department of Urban and Regional Planning, Department of Architecture, Department of Estate Management and Department of Quantity Surveying while the second phase is to have Department of Building, Department of Housing, Department of Land Surveying and the Department of Water Resources Management. The faculty effectively commenced in January, 2017 with the appointment of Professor C. O. Olatubara as the pioneer Dean and the putting in place of the administrative staff of the faculty. The main building of the faculty is at the Ajibode extension of the University with the core structures consisting of the Department of Urban and Regional Planning complex. The other structures and the extension of the faculty building are to be constructed in phases as the other departments in the faculty are approved to commence operations.